go play outside

  2092 Long Level Road Wrightsville, PA  17368
 

Paddlesports Lessons

TOURING KAYAK & STAND-UP PADDLEBOARD INSTRUCTION PROGRAMS

Shank’s Mare offers a full schedule of kayaking and stand-up paddleboard classes.  These programs will teach you how to get the most out of your paddlesports adventures both from a safety and technique standpoint. Sign up for our classes and get a great start in kayaking or paddleboarding. All classes require pre-registration - online by clicking the class title, or by phone at 717-252-1616.

We are happy to schedule private group lessons.  Just give us a call for details.  GO PLAY OUTSIDE!

Level I Kayak Class

This two hour class offers an introduction to the sport of touring kayaking using decktop (sit-on-top) kayaks.  On-land, learn entering the kayak, proper body position, holding the paddle, and basic paddle strokes. On-water instruction includes learning power, maneuvering and touring strokes. It is truly a “try it see if you like it” program. The class ends with a guided paddle tour offering individual help as needed. The class fee includes kayak, paddles, pfd’s and instruction.

June 2019 – Tuesdays June 4 or 18 or Thurs. June 13 – 5:30-7:30pm

July 2019 – Tuesdays July 2 or 16 – 5:30-7:30pm

August 2019 – Tuesdays August 6 or 20 or Wed. August 28 – 5:30-7:30pm

Fee – $50/Person

Level II Kayak Class

This two hour class is designed for those who have taken our Level I Kayak Class or comparable instruction or experience, and wish to continue learning better technique plus the all important safety skills every kayaker should possess.  It is taught in cockpit kayaks and includes instruction on strokes, maneuvers, braces, wet exits, and rescue skills...what to do when capsizing in water over your head.  Kayaks, paddles, pfd's, and all safety gear is included.  Students may use their own kayaks if they are properly outfitted.

June 2019 - Wednesday June 19 - 5:30-7:30pm
July 2019 - Thursday July 11 - 5:30-7:30pm
August 2019 - Thursday August 1 or August 22 - 5:30-7:30pm
September 2019 - Wednesday September 4 - 5:30-7:30pm
Fee - $62/Person

Comprehensive Kayak Class

This 5-hour class encompasses all skills taught in Level I and Level II Kayak Classes plus additional information on kayaks and outfitting.  Taught in cockpit-style touring kayaks, the class begins with an on-land orientation on kayak equipment and technique.  On the water, students begin with wet exits in a controlled area with the instructor. Paddlers then review and practice strokes including power, touring, sweeps, braces, and draws. Wet exits and safety skills are taught and practiced including group and self-rescues.  If time allows, a short paddle tour completes the class. The class fee includes cockpit kayaks with front and rear flotation, sprayskirts, rescue gear, paddles and pfd’s.

June 2019 – Saturday June 8 or Monday June 24 – 11:00am-4:00pm

July 2019 – Saturdays July 13 or Monday July 29 – 11:00am-4:00pm

August 2019 – Saturday August 10 or Monday August 19 – 11:00am-4:00pm
September 2019 - Saturday September 7 - 11:00am-4:00pm

Fee – $100/Person

Basic Stand-Up Paddleboard Class

This two hour class offers an introduction to the sport of Stand-Up Paddleboarding (SUP).  On-land, learn handling your paddle, mounting the paddleboard and proper body position for balance. On-water instruction includes launching, various stroke techniques, maneuvering the board, and safety and rescue techniques.  This instruction period will be followed by a short SUP paddle tour. Fee includes board, paddle, pfd & instruction.

June 2019 – Wed. June 12 or Thurs. June 27 -  5:30-7:30pm  

July 2019 – Wed. July 10 or Thurs. July 25 - 5:30-7:30pm

August 2019 – Wed. August 14 - 5:30-7:30pm or Sat. August 24, 10:30am-12:30pm

Fee – $50/Person

Yoga & Stand-Up Paddleboard Class

Practice the yoga skills of grounding and centering, creating inner balance and linking movement to breath...all on a stand-up paddleboard.  Our SUP expert, Josh Hill, will help you get comfortable on your paddleboards with guest yogis leading you in your yoga practice. This two hour class is taught in a quiet, sheltered and shallow area of the river.  Dress appropriately for the water.  Board, paddle and pfd are provided.

June 2019 – Sat. June 22 - 10:30am-12:30pm

July 2019 – Fri. July 19 or Sat. July 27 - 10:30am-12:30pm

August  2019  – Fri. August 9 or Sat. August 17 - 10:30am-12:30pm

Fee- $50/Person